OTC Self Study

Self-Study Overview

OTC Accreditation Self-Study Overview

What is accreditation? Why is Ozarks Technical Community College currently preparing a self-study document to present to the Higher Learning Commission? Here you can learn more about the importance of accreditation and what you can do to help! To really find out what's going on, check out the President's letter and the HLC's accreditation criteria.

The Higher Learning Commission

Accreditation is vital to our students' education here at OTC. The process of accreditation validates the community's confidence in us and bolsters the credibility of the institution with other colleges. But what part does the HLC play in this story?

According to the HLC website, "The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation and one of two commission members of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools (NCA), which was founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. The Higher Learning Commission accredits, and thereby grants membership in the Commission and in the North Central Association, degree-granting educational institutions in the North Central region." This region includes Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

HLC is recognized by the US Department of Education and the Council on Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

HLC Accreditation Process: At-a-Glance